Back to top

Advisory board

Our scientific advisory board includes key scientific and policy experts in the climate dialogue and the broader context of sustainability.

The IAM COMPACT project's Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) will advise the Consortium on matters related to the implementation and development of our activities, including but not limited to the scope, transparency, and legitimacy of the activities and methods applied as well as the robustness and dissemination of the results produced. The collective expertise of the SAB will draw on a broad range of perspectives from the key scientific disciplines underlying climate change research, climate policymaking, sustainability, and biodiversity. Our SAB currently includes the following members:

  • Prof. Jason Lowe: School of Earth and Environment at University of Leeds. He is Head of Climate Services at the Met Office Hadley Centre. His research activities focus on better understanding the issue of potentially dangerous climate change and the constraints on future pathways of emissions and climate change. Profile page from University of Leeds here.
  • Prof. Sonia Yeh: Department of Space, Earth and Environment at Chalmers. Her expertise is in energy economics and energy system modeling, alternative transportation fuels, sustainability standards, technological change, and consumer behavior and mobility. She has advised and worked broadly with U.S. state and international advisers, policymakers, a wide range of stakeholder groups and academic researchers in developing climate policies toward reducing the environmental impacts and GHG emissions from transport. Profile page from Chalmers University here.
  • Prof. Boaventura C. Cuamba: Department of Physics at Eduardo Mondlane. He leads the Energy Research Center at UEM and has managed various research/development/consultancy activities in the fields of energy, environment, and climate from the United States Development Agency (USAID), the World Bank (WB), the European Union (EU), and the African Development Bank (AfDB), among others. Profile page from Climate-Uni here.
  • Prof. Anthony Patt: Institute for Environmental Decisions at ETH Zurich. He has served as a Lead Author of the chapter on Risk and Uncertainty for the Working Group III contribution to the IPCC Fifth Assessment Report (2014) of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, and as Coordinating Lead Author of the chapter on International Cooperation for the WGIII Sixth Assessment Report (2022). Profile page from ETH Zurich here.
  • Prof. Diana Reckien: Department of Urban and Regional Planning and Geo-Information Management at the University of Twente. She was the coordinating Lead Author of the chapter on Decision-making Options for Managing Risk for the Working Group II contribution to the IPCC Sixth Assessment Report (2022). Profile page from University of Twente here.
  • Prof. Izael Pereira Da Silva: Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Research & Innovation at Strathmore, Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Strathmore Energy Research Centre, Chairman of the Board of the Kenya Climate and Innovation Centre, and member of the IEEE AdHoc Committee for fostering Engineering in Africa. Profile page from Strathmore here.
  • Ms. Sureka Perera: Programme Quality and Design Analyst at United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in Sri Lanka. UNDP Sri Lanka website.
  • Prof. Kostas Triantis: CEO of Natural Environment and Climate Change Agency of Greece. He has served as Special Secretary for Water at the Ministry of Environment, Energy and Climate Change, and Director-at-Large of the International Biogeography Society. Personal website.
  • Dr. Isabela Schmidt Tagomori: Researcher in the Department of Climate, Air and Energy at the Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency (PBL), and project manager of the sister project to IAM COMPACT, ELEVATE. Profile page from PBL here.